Third Grade: Birds of Hope

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How beautiful are these?! Originally, I intended to have the third graders glaze their birds, but then I read this post by Abbey Hendrickson (my former art teacher!) and was inspired by that darling little gold bird on the chicken coop. It was a last minute decision, but sometimes those are my best.

To introduce this lesson, I asked the third graders, “What do you hope to see more of in our world?” These “Birds of Hope” represent the third graders’ ideas, as one of my students said “to make our world even more awesome!” Couldn’t have said it better myself 🙂

Speaking of being awesome, check out Abbey Hendrickson’s recently published book, You are Awesome: 21 Crafts to Make you Happy on Amazon!

Leave a Reply

