Third Grade Fauvist Self-Portraits

Every year, our school’s PTA hosts a fundraiser through Square 1 Art. Unlike other fundraisers, EVERY kid gets to participate (win!). To top it off, even if a student cannot order a custom item with their artwork, Square 1 sends every artist a custom sheet of stickers of their artwork! It was such a joy to be able to share that exciting bit of news with each of my classes 🙂

Check out some of these third grade Fauvist-inspired self portraits! The challenge for this project was to create a “secret color code.” Each student was given a chart containing a list of colors to which they added meaning.

It was interesting to see some kids assign unconventional ideas to some of their colors. I had one student write “sadness” next to “yellow,” a color that “sunshine” to me. When I inquired about this, he replied, “Yellow reminds me of my grandma who died.”

Even though this particular child has a tragic memory attached to a color, I really cherish the moments when I learn these little bits about my students through art!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And now, on my way to ship these off!

Leave a Reply

